top of page

Cinco de mayo

Updated: May 25, 2021

For a long time I did not know truly what Cinco de Mayo was about because it was never a big deal in my family. It wasn't until my friend who is from Puebla told me that Cinco de Mayo is a day that commemorates Mexican army's victory over Napoleon's French forces at the battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862. Many people think that Cinco de Mayo is a celebration of Mexico's independence but it is not. Mexico's independence day is actually celebrated on September 16.

The most that my family does on Cinco de Mayo is go to a small party held by people from Puebla but we hardly really celebrate. On the other hand we do make great big meals on Mexico's independence day. On September 16 we are on phone calls with our family in Mexico and listen to the stories that my grandma tell as well as try to make sense of the ones my grandpa tells.


bottom of page